Art / Event PR:

JAMES FRANCIS GILL

“Pop Art pioneer back from party hell.”
Hamburger Morgenpost

He is one of the last surviving original American Pop Art artists: James Francis Gill. In September 2014, he exhibited his works at the Udo Lindenberg & more-Galerie in Hamburg. In November 2015 he shows his painting in Werl.

With a cowboy hat perched on his head and three paintings under his arm, James Francis Gill turned up at the gallery of Felix Landau, then the most influential gallery owner in America, in 1962. Two months later, the Museum of Modern Art added Gill’s Marilyn Triptych to its collection. Overnight, the young cowboy became one of the most famous American Pop Art artists. His works were exhibited at the renowned Sao Paolo 9 in 1967/68 alongside the works of Warhol, Lichtenstein and Rauschenberg.

hesse und hallermann PR supported the artist during his stay in Hamburg and ensured that Gill’s exhibition received major media resonance. hesse und hallermann also handled the press at Gill’s exhibition in Werl (November 2015).

Kunst / Event PR:

JAMES FRANCIS GILL

„Pop-Art-Pionier zurück aus der Party-Hölle.“
Hamburger Morgenpost

Er ist einer der letzten noch lebenden amerikanischen Pop Art-Künstler der ersten Stunde: James Francis Gill. Im September 2014 stellte er seine Bilder in der Hamburger Udo Lindenberg & more-Galerie aus. Im November 2015 stellt er in Werl aus.

Ein Cowboyhut auf dem Kopf, drei Bilder unter dem Arm – so betritt James Francis Gill 1962 die Galerie von Felix Landau, dem damals einflussreichsten Galeristen Amerikas. Zwei Monate später nimmt das Museum of Modern Art Gills „Marilyn Triptych“ in seine Sammlung auf. Aus dem jungen Cowboy wird über Nacht einer der berühmtesten Pop Art-Künstler Amerikas, der 1967/1968 u.a. neben Warhol, Lichtenstein und Rauschenberg auf der renommierten Sao Paulo 9 ausgestellt wird.

hesse und hallermann PR betreute den Künstler während seines Hamburg-Aufenthaltes und sorgte für ein großes Medien-Echo zu Gills Ausstellung. Auch für seine Vernissage im November 2015 in Werl wurde hesse und hallermann gebucht.